Mazar – e – Sharif

Standard

 

Mazar-e-Sharif

The mosque at Mazar e Sharif is unequaled in its ethereal beauty, enhanced by the white pigeons that live in its courtyards.

Efforts are currently being made to preserve Afghanistan’s many historical sites. Tragically, some of Afghanistan’s greatest cultural treasures, such as the Bamiyan giant Buddha statues, were destroyed by the Taliban. Other cultural heritage sites, such as the Heart mosque with its intricate ceramic tile designs, the hauntingly hidden Minaret of Jam, and the imposing Mazar-i-Sharif mosque have been preserved.

Buddha of Bamiyan

Etched into the dappled sandstone of the Bamiyan mountains are the faint remains of the once colossal Buddha statues that silently watched over the Bamiyan Valley for 1500 years. The ancient statues were destroyed by the Taliban in March 2001, complaining that the Buddhas represented polytheistic idols. After destroying the  tall monuments it caused an uproar, people of Afghanistan were very sad to see it getting destroyed but there was nothing they could do to save it since the Taliban were ruling. Recent efforts in the region hope to restore their magnitude and reintroduce their cultural significance.

Before the Buddah was bombed down by the Tliban

About saharehsas123

My name is Sahar Ehsas and I am a journalist. Currently living in England. Originally from Afghanistan, at the age of seven my family decided to move to England. We moved away from home because of the Taliban. I've always been inspired by my father to become a journalist. With the help of the education system in England I managed to achieve my dreams and am now working for a big media organisation. I have managed to fulfil my dreams but this is not the end of it, now I want to work towards helping others achieve their goals, and I’m talking about the friends I have left behind in Afghanistan, the cousins, aunts and uncles and the less fortunate. As an Afghan girl, I have very strong opinions about the rights for women in Afghanistan. The sole purpose of this blog is to create awareness of what is going on in Afghanistan. My Blog may not reach many people but I hope, the people of Afghanistan get enough support in order to stand on their own feet, without having to rely on others. Also for women to be given the simple human rights that Afghanistan lacks. I will also be covering the latest news in Afghanistan with photographs taken by me on my trips to Afghanistan.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

