This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the past I was a teacher. I loved my job. I taught mathematics. I remember how the students with interest learned. As a young woman, I had more energy to teach back then. I went to class with good materials and methods that I learned in University, from our highly educated teachers. We were always very happy to teach and learn.

Unfortunately, our country , Afghanistan, was involved in a war that nobody wanted, just those who worked for themselves. All our achievements were gone with the wind. The doors of schools and universities closed and people became homeless. In order to save their lives, people traveled from province to province, becoming refugees in other countries. I was one of them. With many difficulties to flee.

I believe in my people, they will stand on their own feet again and re-build our destroyed country. Nelson Mandela once said, “The future should be built on hope, not fear.”

Zakia Hemat ( A well known, brave and intelligent teacher, who once taught students in Afghanistan.)

Leave a Reply

