The Royal Wedding

As billions of people around the world watched on, Prince Harry of Wales; The Duke of Sussex, 33, tied the knot with his beautiful bride Ms. Meghan Markle, 36, who is now Her Royal Highness the Duchess of Sussex.

The marriage ceremony took place in Windsor, it was one that did not disappoint, with a beautiful entrance from Meghan, the joyful tears from Harry at the sight of his bride, the well planned speech by the bishop and the music. It was a perfect fairy-tale royal wedding.

Shortly after the vows and rings were exchanged, Prince Harry and Meghan made their way out of the church to announce their accomplished wedding to the world with their first kiss as a married couple.

Thousands of people watched on anticipating the newlyweds to pass by during the Carriage Procession route, which travelled through Windsor with waves and smiles from both, Harry and Meghan to the excited well-wishers cheering them on.

This was a special and historical moment for the world. Particularly since it was an interracial and multicultural marriage, approving of all people despite their race, background or culture.

The wedding was a perfect example of life in England and the fact that the British people are tolerant of each others differences without passing judgement.

One of the highlights of the wedding ceremony for me was Michael Curry’s speech; In particular, the part where he said:

“There’s power in love. Don’t underestimate it. Don’t even over-sentimentalise it. There’s power, power in love”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Prince’s Career

The Royal wedding was a moment to realise that the Prince had come a very long way.

While I was watching the wedding on TV, a lot about his career in Afghanistan was mentioned, it gave me the idea to write further on the topic of Prince Harry’s career; looking back at what he did in Afghanistan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Prince Harry joined the Blues and Royals in April 2006 after the Sandhurst training. His Unit was to be situated to Iraq. But, there were interrogations on whether the prince would be joining the front line. Ultimately it was declared that he would not join the front line due to security risks. Harry was apparently, dissatisfied in the decision but he stood by it and stayed out of the front line as instructed.

In 2008, it was established by the MoD that Harry had been covertly deployed to Afghanistan, Helmand province.  During his career in the military, he performed two tours in Afghanistan.

Through his time in Afghanistan, Prince Harry helped the Ghurkha troops prevent an attack from the Taliban rebels, undertaking patrol.

Together with the many medals that he received from his military career,  he was given an Afghanistan Operational Service Medal in 2008 to mark his service at the frontline in Helmand province.

He has spoken of his time based at the Camp Bastion in Helmand province. In some of his interviews, he has revealed the trouble he faced settling in the different roles he had in his life. He spoke about the “three mes”. “One in the army, one socially in my own private time, and then one with the family and stuff like that. So there is a switch and I flick it when necessary.”

In one of his interviews, he was asked about his career and whether he felt more comfortable being Captain Wales rather than Prince Harry, and he responded “Definitely. I’ve always been like that. My father’s always trying to remind me about who I am and stuff like that. But it’s very easy to forget about who I am when I am in the army. Everyone’s wearing the same uniform and doing the same kind of thing. I get on well with the lads and I enjoy my job. It really is as simple as that.”

How I felt about the Royal Wedding

As an Afghan raised and living in England, I could never find myself fully connected to the British. But while I was watching the Royal wedding ceremony, in the comfort of my own home, I connected for the first time in the twenty years that I have been a British citizen.

The wedding took me back to my roots, I thought of the prince wandering around the same streets of Afghanistan that I had wandered around. I linked myself to him because he has seen what I have seen in Afghanistan, something that not everyone could relate to. I feel the wedding had a lot to offer everyone around the world. Those who watched the wedding or were present in Windsor on this historical day could only look back and see a new world and appreciate being a part of it.

I connected because of the fact that it was a multicultural wedding, it made me comprehend that people’s differentiations are starting to be recognized and accepted. I felt like a part of history for existing in such a time like this; a time of change.

Prince Harry in Afghanistan

 

Leave a comment